In Illinois, there is a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. Zero-tolerance means that if you are under the age of 21 and are pulled over for driving a vehicle with a BAC over 0.00, you could be charged with a DUI and lose your driving privileges. The smallest trace of alcohol in your system could have you convicted of a DUI under Illinois zero-tolerance laws.
For a first offense of driving with a BAC over 0.00, your license will be suspended for 3 months. For a second, offense, your suspension could last up to 1 year. However, driving with a BAC over the legal limit of 0.08 has much more serious consequences. For your first DUI conviction for underage drinking and driving, your license will be revoked for a minimum of 2 years. For a second DUI conviction, your license will be revoked for a minimum of 5 years.
Don't let an underage DUI ruin your future or your child's future. The right legal defense strategy for your child's case depends on the circumstances of the case. If your child consumed alcohol as part of a religious ceremony or with your permission and supervision in your home, his or her defense strategy may involve proving this to the judge. It is vital to work with an experienced criminal defense lawyer who understands Illinois DUI laws and DUI trials. At the law offices of John W. Callahan, Ltd., we have handled countless DUI cases in Illinois. We know the law and the courts. We can help you. To speak to one of our dedicated attorneys, call 1-877-335-6697 for a free case evaluation.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment