As an attorney that has handled license reinstatement cases in Illinois for over 18 years, I have extensive experience dealing with the suspension of driver's licenses. I often have to explain to our clients what it means that they now have a suspended license.
The Illinois Vehicle Code defines a suspension of a person's license and driving privileges. To have a suspended license means that you temporarily lose the ability to use your license to drive. The Secretary of State decides how long of a suspension you will get, though it cannot exceed 12 months if you have paid the necessary reinstatement fee.
While a suspended license is inconvenient, your driving privileges are automatically restored at the end of the suspension period, provided that you pay a restoration fee. The restoration fee can range from $70 to $500, depending on the statute you are charged under. Your suspension may be extended for a variety of reasons, including Driving While License Suspended (DWLS); this is just one of many reasons why you should avoid driving on a suspended license.
If you believe that your license was wrongly suspended or if you need help with a revoked license from a DUI conviction, you should contact the license reinstatement attorneys at John W. Callahan, Ltd. We can request a driver's license suspension hearing, and we have the experience and knowledge needed to help you win your hearing. We know how important the right to drive is to your everyday life and we will fight to restore your license.
–Posted by license reinstatement lawyer John W. Callahan