Driving in Illinois is a privilege and once your driving privileges have been suspended, you must take the necessary action to regain your license. There is no one set of requirements to get your driver's license reinstated after a suspension. The requirements are dependent on the reason your license was suspended in the first place, in addition to other factors, such as your driving history and alcohol/drug evaluations. Typically, you need to satisfy requirements set forth by the court or Secretary of State, attend a formal or an informal hearing, and / or pay reinstatement fees. Reinstatement fees range anywhere from $70 to $500 depending on your suspension. Most of the time a simple suspension can be cleared up by paying the Secretary of State fee.
In order to get your license reinstated you will need to have an informal orformal hearing with the Illinois Secretary of State's office if you have been revoked. Serious offenses require a formal hearing, whereas lesser offenses require an informal hearing. Once you are cleared at the hearing and receive notice that you can have your driver's license reinstated, you must provide proof of insurance and pay the appropriate reinstatement fee.
If your license has been suspended or revoked for a DUI, your first step should be to contact the lawyers of John W. Callahan, Ltd. You can either wait out your driver's license suspension or you can consult our experienced Attorneys to discuss whether you are eligible for your driver's license reinstatement today. At our Cook County law firm, defense lawyer John W. Callahan will represent you at your suspension hearings to help get your driver's license reinstated as quickly as possible. Contact our firm to arrange for a free consultation to discuss how we can help you get your license back.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment