• I got my driver’s license back.


    "I personally recommend Mr. Callahan to anyone who needs help getting full reinstatement."

    View All
  • Out of State License Reinstated!


    "From the first moment we contacted John Callahan we felt comfortable in our decision of retaining him for our case."

    View All
  • DUI License Revocation


    "Mr. Callahan went above and beyond to help me with my case."

    View All
  • Full Reinstatement!


    "Thank you again to John and his staff!"

    View All
Contact John W. Callahan to get your Illinois driver’s
license reinstated now: 1-877-469-4535

License Reinstatement

How we can reinstate your Illinois driver’s license.


Out of State Revocation

If you live outside of Illinois, we can clear your license.


Successful Cases

Take a look at a sample of our great results.



Illinois license reinstatement questions.


What is a Monitoring Device Driving Permit?

Posted by John Callahan | Jul 27, 2018 | 0 Comments

I have been representing clients charged with DUI in Illinois, around the Schaumburg and Chicago areas for over 17 years. If your license has been suspended for a DUI, you should consider obtaining a Monitoring Device Driving Permit.
 A first-time DUI offender may obtain a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) from the Secretary of State to allow unlimited driving during the statutory summary suspension. A first-time offender is a driver who has not received of a previous statutory summary suspension in the past five years, been convicted of DUI or assigned court supervision for DUI in Illinois, or been convicted of DUI in another state within 5 years. An offender must have a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) installed and maintained on any vehicle driven during the suspension period. An offender may drive anywhere at any time once the permit is issued and the BAIID installed. However, an MDDP is not effective until the 31st day of the suspension.
 An offender is ineligible for an MDDP if the driver's license is otherwise invalid or if death or great bodily harm resulted from the DUI arrest. An offender is ineligible for an MDDP if previously convicted of Reckless Homicide or Aggravated DUI that resulted in a death. A driver under age 18 is not eligible for an MDDP. I can't even get you a reinstatement hearing if you are suspended and not revoked.
 To learn more information about obtaining a Monitoring Device Driving Permit after receiving your first DUI, contact our office to speak with an experienced defense attorney. 
 – Posted by license reinstatement lawyer John W. Callahan

About the Author

John Callahan

You never get a second chance to make a first impression. You may also never get a second chance to preserve your freedom if faced with criminal or DUI charges. If you are currently facing criminal charges, contact the law offices of John W. Callahan to protect you, your rights and your freedom. ...


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment