In the area of DUI and drivers license reinstatement law it is very important to know the Illinois law thoroughly so that you will know how long a potential revocation for driving under the influence of alcohol will last. For example, if you have never been revoked due to a DUI charge but are currently facing a conviction for that DUI, you should be careful as to when to plead of guilty or the trial date of that DUI will occur. If you are convicted for a DUI charge while you are on a permit for the mandatory device driving permit, you will be required to obtain a formal administrative hearing with the Secretary of State in Illinois to try to clear up your license. In addition, you will be required to be on a breathalyzer permit for at least 12 months and up to five years depending on what happened on your first DUI.
Let's look at this case study… a person who received court supervision on a DUI charge 15 years ago but had no suspension on his record from a previous DUI would be eligible for an informal Secretary of State Administrative hearing if convicted of a second DUI. This is because there is only one loss of driving privileges on that person's record. However, if that same person resolves the second DUI charge before the MDDP permit expires, Illinois law requires a formal hearing and a BAIID permit for restricted purposes only for at least one year and possibly up to five. Quite a difference for simply waiting to resolve the 2nd DUI until AFTER the MDDP permit has been completed.
The dividend of waiting to resolve a 2nd DUI until after the MDDP is complete can mean the difference between a major inconvenience and a minor inconvenience in getting reinstated. If you need help clearing up your license, feel free to contact the experienced license reinstatement team of John W Callahan, Ltd. with any questions you may have.