If you have been arrested in Illinois for a second DUI you need to prepare yourself for the possibility that your Illinois driver's license will be revoked if your DUI lawyer cannot get your charges reduced down to a reckless driving charge or if he can't beat the DUI charge at trial. This means that if you are found guilty or if you plead guilty to a DUI charge even if that first DUI was more than 20 years ago, the Secretary of State in Illinois will revoke your driving privileges.
What do you do if your license gets revoked on a second DUI? You need to prepare yourself for a formal administrative hearing with the Illinois Secretary of State. In order to obtain a successful result at the formal hearing, you need to be prepared well in advance. You will need to bring the proper treatment documentation to the hearing just to be allowed in to the hearing to give yourself a chance. Next, you need to be prepared and know the answer to the more than 100-200 questions that you will be asked at the hearing. Any question wrong can lead to a denial so a successful license reinstatement lawyer will know how to prep you for each and every question to obtain the result you need.
About 60-90 days after your hearing you will receive the results from the Secretary of State and you should be able to drive as long as everything goes as planned.
If you have been arrested for a 2nd DUI in Illinois or even outside the State of Illinois, you should contact the license reinstatement law firm of John W Callajan, LTD., to discuss your case at anytime.
posted by license reinstatement lawyer John W Callahan
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment