I have been representing clients who have lost their driving privileges in Illinois, around the Schaumburg and Chicago areas, for over 17 years. People have often asked me whether they have to install a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) in an employer-owned vehicle.
To drive employer-owned vehicles without a BAIID, you must receive an exemption from the Illinois Secretary of State.
The Secretary of State will contact your place of employment to verify that it is necessary for your job to drive without the BAIID. If you are caught driving an employer's vehicle without a BAIID and without a work exemption, you may be found guilty of a Class 4 felony, which carries a penalty of a minimum 30 days in jail, a possible 1-3 years imprisonment, and fines of up to $25,000.
For more information on driving relief or how to reinstate your license, contact John W. Callahan for a free consultation.
– Posted by Illinois license reinstatement lawyer John W Callahan
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment